Chabot College Library Introduces Worldshare-- the new robust library catalog that searches more!
Faster than our previous SIRSI catalog, almost no time-outs, ability to search print sources and electronic sources side-by-side including most e-books and a sample of articles (some in full-text)-- the Library is proud to introduce Worldshare from the OCLC vendor.
The Library home page provides the student with an immediate large searchbox so students can begin searching for sources. The new left-hand side column allows students to limit their searches. Sometimes boxes need to be checked with others unchecked (i.e. if you want to limit to print books only you click on books, but then uncheck subcategories such as e-Books).
There is a full-text limiter also but should be used sparingly as some full-text articles currently do get eliminated along with non-full text articles.
Searches can be limited to just Chabot College Library or expanded to Chabot and Las Positas libraries or Worldwide (results will indicate closest libraries to Chabot when indicated).
View Now means text of book or articles is actually available online, Availability will let student know where a particular book's edition is in the Library, and Editions/Formats allows discovery of possibly more versions of a title that may be in the Library's collection!
Megasearch link requires databases usernames and passwords but will cross-search at least 18 databases at once (note: to keep the span working, limiter should always be at "Libraries Worldwide" for this one and never limited to full-text).
With the coming of a new catalog, sometimes change is necessary and so we had to change our policies due to the new features of the new library catalog. They include:
1. Students, staff and faculty MUST have a Student/staff/faculty ID card in order to check out materials. This means all MUST find time in their schedules to get an ID card at the Student ID center in Building 700.
2. Unlike our databases where the username and password still match the default ones for Canvas, Students MUST create a password for their library catalog accounts (while W ID numbers will transfer, passwords cannot with the current system set-up). This means when a student wants to view their library account to see what they have checked out or overdue, they must hit Set/Re-set password, enter their W ID number and then after they click on the authorization link sent to their Zonemail, create a password.
3. There are other slight adjustments of which Debbie Buti will cover.
Coming soon, the Library's subscription to StackMap will be made live! What's StackMap? When the student gets to the full record of any item, there will be an option that says MapIt! after the call number and with one click, the student can see on a map which shelving area their item is.