 |
Films on Demand |
Films on Demand provides over 13,000 videos available online. The database itself is searchable through a variety of subjects, most titles are retrievable through our new online library catalog, plus you, the instructor, youself, can directly link to either an entire video or a fragment of one!
The database contains many documentaries and educational videos including American Experience, the BBC, the Bill Moyers collection, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Royal Opera House, the History Channel, National Geographic, Nova, PBS, the Open University, TED, Wide Angle and more!
Keep in mind as this is a subscription, titles can be removed at any time, although the vendor attempts to let the Library know at least one month in advance when titles and series are leaving the database. The Library will send to CCFaculty each time titles are added and dropped in the collection so you are ready to plan resources you want to use for your courses.
NOTE: At this time, there are issues logging into Films on Demand on Safari. If you are using a Mac or Apple, please use Firefox. Or contact the Library for login/password (as that will be the screen you get after you successfully log in).
First of all, any of you can create an account that saves and has links to what you want to show in class.
You can create folders of favorites or even provide a playlist of different sections you want to show. You can also even create what section of any established fragment you want to use through your account. However, to share links with students, you do not need to have an account.
If you want to share with your students to see a video from your Canvas or other web site, be sure to open your links in a new window or tab, and then copy and paste the link at the bottom of the page of the video or video section you want to show your students. It's that easy!
If you need help using Films on Demand, contact Norman Buchwald, and he'll be happy to show you!