Skip to Main Content

English 101 B /1 A (Rajaram)--Just Kids by Patti Smith: Discovering Artists (Reference)

People in Art (General)

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture
The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
Famous people who have died from 1980 to 2009.
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: EBOOK Click on the Book Cover

Visual Artists, Architects and Film

Dictionary of Art
Call Number: REF N31 .D5 2002
The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts
Call Number: REF N72.H64 Q44 2004
Encyclopedia of American Architecture
Call Number: REFERNCE: NA705 P3 1995
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture
Call Number: REFERENCE: NA40 I48 1993
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Movies in American History
The Encyclopedia of Hollywood

Musicians

Contemporary Musicians
Prominent musicians from the 1960s to the 2000s,
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Call Number: ML105 .B168
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Call Number: REF ML102.P66 G84 1998
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: REF ML100 .N48 2001
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Call Number: REF ML102.J3 N48 2002

Authors and Poets

Gale Literature (Literature Resource Center, Literary Criticisms and More!) This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedia of the New York School Poets
Poetry Criticism
Call Number: REF PN1010 .P6
Selections only from Literature Resource Center. The Library has up to volume 121 in print.

Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window

Social Protest Literature
Call Number: REF PN56.S65 N48 1999
Greenwood Encycloepdia of Multiethnic American Literature
Call Number: REF PS153.M56 G74 2005