Skip to Main Content

English 001 A (Tenn): There Are No Children Here: Reference Materials

Key Reference Book Titles

Historical Statistics of the United States
Call Number: REF HA202 .H57 2006
The Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
Call Number: REF HQ722 .G27
Child Development
Encyclopedia of Adolescence
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents and the Media
Call Number: REF HQ784 .M3 E53
Violence in America
Call Number: REF HN90 .V5 V5474
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E52
Encyclopedia of Criminology
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E5295
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement
Call Number: REF HV7921 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime
Encyclopedia of Gangs
Call Number: REF HV6439 .U5 E53
Gangs: a Reference Handbook
Class in America: An Encyclopedia
American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money
Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HC110 .P6 P595 2009
Working Americans: 1880-2011: The Working Class
Homelessness in America
The Encyclopedia of Housing
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
NEW!
American Decades: 1980-1989
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society

Key Ebooks

Where We Stand: Class Matters by bell hooks
American Childhood: Risks and Realities by Dona Schneider
Children in the Urban Environment by Norma Kolko Phillips
The Youth Development Handbook by Stephen F. Hamilton (Editor); Mary Agnes Hamilton (Editor)
Toward Positive Youth Development by Marybeth Shinn (Editor); Hirokazu Yoshikawa (Editor)
Youth Violence and Delinquency by Marilyn D. McShane (Editor); Frank P. Williams (Editor)
Where Are Poor People to Live?: Transforming Public Housing Communities by Larry Bennett (Editor); Janet L. Smith (Editor); Patricia A. Wright (Editor)
Call Number: STACKS: HD7288.78 .U52 C495 2006
American Project: The Rise and Fall of a Modern Ghetto by Sudhir Alladi Venkatesh
Publication Date: 2002-04-15
Empowered Participation: Reinventing Urban Democracy by Archon Fung
Chicago: A Biography by Dominic A. Pacyga
Working-Class Heroes - Protecting Home, Community, and Nation in a Chicago Neighborhood by Maria Kefalas
Crime, Neighborhood, and Public Housing by Garth Davies
Reducing Youth Gang Violence: The Little Village Gang Project in Chicago by Irving A. Spergel
Contemporary Gangs: An Organizational Analysis by Deborah Lamm Weisel
Community Policing, Chicago Style by Wesley G. Skogan; Susan M. Hartnett
Transforming America: Politics and Culture in the Reagan Years by Robert M. Collins
Introduction to Cities: How Place and Space Shape Human Experience by Xiangming Chen; Anthony M. Orum; Krista E. Paulsen