English 001 A (Webster): Databases

The Internet and Our Communities Essay 2 Spring 2017

Why the Library?

Why Use Library Databases?
 Library Databases:
  • Are paid for by the Library so that you can have free access to scholarly information.
  • Content is evaluated for authority and accuracy.
  • Information is stable, meaning it doesn't disappear after a period of time.
  • Through subject pages it is easy to find databases with information that relates specifically to your topic
  • Offer options to quickly limit or expand your search results to find the best articles for your topic.

The Internet:

  • Many sources are free, but others require you to pay.
  • Information is not evaluated for accuracy and may be incorrect, misleading or biased.
  • Websites come and go.
  • Is not organized.
  • Search engines (like Google) often return an overwhelming number of results.  These search engines offer no quick way of narrowing your results to ensure they relate to your topic.
 
Adapted from: 

 

Databases Off-Campus

Databases Off-Campus

Username and Password Screen

To access databases off campus, you enter your W number as your username (begin with a CAPITAL W).  Your password is: the first two letters of your first name, the first two letters of your last name, and the last FOUR digits of your W Number.  To learn more, take this tutorial (you will need Flash):

How to Get into Databases Off Campus

If you still have problems getting in, take this tutorial:

What to Do if You STILL Cannot Get into Databases Off Campus

Articles

Searching tricks

Searching term tricks

* Used to expand the word you are searching to include plurals. etc.

              Example: Pakis* gives you Pakistan, Pakistani 

"quotes"  Use for phrases     Example "Nobel Peace Prize"

OR Use for either or searching       Example: Child or teen

And Use to combine terms you want to have  Example: Educat* and Pakis*

Not  Use when you want to eliminate a word from your search (Warning: if you cut a word and it is in an article with words you want, you won't see that article!)