Skip to Main Content

Social Sciences Open House Library Guide: Preliminary Research

Spring 2020

Background Research--starting point

Why conduct background research on your topic?

It is a great source of core knowledge on your topic
It can generate ideas on different ways to focus your topic
It can answer research questions you've already posed
It may help you clarify and/or expand research questions.
It often points you towards other sources of information on your topic

Online Books Databases

Articles Plus: Reference Book Entries This link opens in a new window
Gale E-books (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window

Reference Books

Social Issues in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HN57 .S624 2006
CQ Researcher
Call Number: REF H35 .E35
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd Ed.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 1st. Ed.
Call Number: REF H40.A2 I5
Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Call Number: REF H41 .D53 2002
The Social Science Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF H41 .S63 2004
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: REF DESK HA2-2 .U58 S7
Historical Statistics of the United States
Call Number: REF HA202 .H57 2006
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Call Number: REF HN57 .E594 2004
Class in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF HN90 .S6 C564 2007
Encyclopedia of Homelessness
Call Number: REF HV4493 .E53 2004
Homelessness in America by Robert Hartmann McNamara
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society
The Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: REF HV12 .E53 2998
Statistical Handbook of the Social Safety Net
Call Number: REF HV51 .P33 2004
Injury Facts 2012 Edition by National Safety Council
Call Number: REF HA217 .A4 2012
Encyclopedia of Social Networks

Reference Books

Gale E-books (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window

Statesman's Yearbook
CQ Almanac
Congress and the Nation
Call Number: REF KF49 .C653
Encyclopedia of American Political History
Call Number: REF E183 .E48 2001
Dictionary of American Government and Politics
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
Call Number: REF E183.7 .E53 1997
Global Perspectives on the United States
Call Number: REF E895 .G56 2007
Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System
Call Number: REF JF501 .E53 1994
Encyclopedia of Political Theory
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
Call Number: REF JF2011 .W67 1999
Presidential Elections 1789-2004
Call Number: REF JK524 .P6783 2005
American Presidential Campaigns and Elections
Call Number: REF JK1965 .A57 2003
Special Interest Group Profiles for Students
Call Number: REF JK1118 .S688 1999
Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources
National Security
Initiative and Referendum Almanac
Call Number: REF KF4881 .A4 2003
Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media and Popular Culture
Call Number: REF P95.82 .U6 C62 2009