LibGuides: Communication Studies 001 (Warda): Reference

Sample of Controversial Topics E-Books (Pro/Con)

Quick Reference Guide

Public Speaking by Sharon Milan; Rachel Jacobs
From the organization of a speech to knowing your audience, your vocals, and the delivery, this essential guide covers an entire course on public speaking yet is handy enough to reference throughout your speech preparation. With more preparation comes more confidence and with added inspiration throughout this guide you will stand to deliver.

Reference Books and Databases

To find your topic from our many reference books, begin with the search form on the left. Listed below are some databases and some key reference sources that will also be useful to you. All require a username and password, which we state here.

Gale E-books (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Articles Plus: Reference Book Entries This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies provides overviews of the hot topics of the day
Gale Directory Library (Encyclopedia of Associations) This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window

Organizations

Gale Directory Library (Encyclopedia of Associations) This link opens in a new window

Codes, Policies, Laws, Legislation

United States Goverment Laws and Legislation Database
California Legislative Information
California Code of Regulations
.gov limited searches
After KEEPING the search prompt "site.gov" at the beginning of the Google search bar, enter name of city, state, etc. then use the word AND and then enter a word that's more specific like law, legislation, or code (policy would be too vague). NOTE: If in another country do a general Google search but make sure where you land is from an official website from that government.

Statistics Sources

Statistics Sources
Statistics Sources provides listings of government and nonprofit organizations that have key statistics based on the topic listed. The best way to use this resource is after you enter your search terms and view listings, copy and paste the title of the statistics table (labeled as SOURCE) and then in Google put that phrase within quotation marks. If it does not lead you to anywhere, copy and paste the URL of the organization that hosts the statistics table. When you are viewing a statistcs table, always look at the legend with it. Sometimes numbers may stand for hundreds, thousands, or even millions. The legend will let the student know what those numbers actually stand for.