Communication Studies 046 (Eisenberg-Todd): Databases

TOPIC: POVERTY

Information Timeline

 

Information Timeline

Graphic showing timeline of information

Pro/Con Databases

All Subjects (Newspapers)

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Databases Off-Campus

Username and Password Screen

To access databases off campus, you enter your W number as your username (begin with a CAPITAL W).  Your password is: the first two letters of your first name, the first two letters of your last name, and the last FOUR digits of your W Number.  To learn more, take this tutorial (you will need Flash):

How to Get into Databases Off Campus

If you still have problems getting in, take this tutorial:

What to Do if You STILL Cannot Get into Databases Off Campus

E-Mailing and Printing Articles

Library Tutorials Screen

The Library has also created tutorials that give you tips on E-Mailing and printing articles successfully.  Take both of them so you can learn how to save money while getting your articles!  You will need Flash to view.

How to Email Articles From Databases

Save Money Printing from Databases

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine Articles

 

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

Scholarly Journal

Purpose -  report on original research or experimentation

Length - longer, in-depth analysis 

Authors - expert or scholar in discipline, name and credentials provided

Language/Audience - jargon of discipline for scholarly readers

Format/Structure - serious look, structure (abstract, introduction, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion), always cite sources

Evaluation - reviewed and evaluated by subject experts and editors

 

 

Popular Magazine Articles

Purpose -  to entertain, to sell products, to promote a particular viewpoint

Length - short, broad overview, litle depth

Authors - staff writer/journalist, name and credentials often not provided

Language/Audience - simple language, general readers

Format/Structure - slick, attractive appearance, not a specific format, does NOT cite sources, lots of graphics

Evaluation - not evaluated by subject experts or editors