ChabotLibrary LTI is an online tool that takes resources found from our EBSCOhost Discovery Service (EDS) and makes content from it appear as seamlessly as possible in a Learning Management System's course such as your Canvas or Canvas course.
You have a search tool where you can enter known title words and then click on the +Add button for the source you desire to include into your course module. PDF, HTML or links to full-text readings will appear right from the Canvas platform itself!
Tutorial on How to use ChabotLibraryApp
1. Films on Demand-- the film is embedded right into the course itself
2. Gale Primary Sources-- Includes Archives of Sexuality & Gender and Indigenous Peoples: North America
3. Gale Virtual Reference Library (also known as "Gale Ebooks")-- Students can quickly search through a wealth of quality reference sources right in your Canvas course, itself!
4. Issues & Controversies-- The quick pro/con overview to many hot topics.
5. Library Research Guides--go step by step until you come across the Libguide created for your course at the library orientation or collaboration with a librarian. Or bring in a general subject guide, or bring in the library databases page.
6. Literature Criticism Online-- Search the Drama Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Children's Literature Review series!
7. Literature Resource Center-- Search to find articles, book chapters, essays and other criticisms selected and collected into this rich database.
8. Opposing Viewpoints in Context-- Go directly to arguments for or against something in essay, editorial or feature article form.
The Library has a collection of eTextbooks currently used for ZTC (Zero Textbook Cost) designated classes. Browse eBooks by subject and courses. Many novels can be purchased as eBooks or audiobooks for accessibility. Most eBooks are available through our EBSCO eBook database and can be searched through our catalog.
Contact John Chan, Collection Development Librarian, to inquire about eBook purchases or to find specific titles.
OER Collections
Authoring Open Textbooks
Open Access Streaming Videos
Set up Google Scholar to find full text articles from Chabot Library.
1. Click on the menu button on the upper left corner to expand the menu options. Select Settings.
2. Select Library Links. Search for Chabot College. Select the check box for Chabot College and make sure to save your settings.
3. Enter your keyword search to view results. The Full Text @ Chabot Library will link you to our databases to access the full text PDF file.
We are starting to get questions about whether we (or the instructors themselves) can scan entire books or chapters?
For over 11 years now, the question on whether faculty members can scan or upload PDF's of chapters or articles and place them behind a Learning Management System Wall (such as a Canvas Course)? Is it a copyright infringement or not? The court case that has explored this issue more than any other is known as Cambridge Univ. Press v. Becker With your W ID number and Password you can read the March 2, 2020 case decided by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia.
In general, you can use NO MORE than ten percent of a journal issue or ebook and it can be used for only ONE course section. If you use more than ten percent, then you would be required to pay royalty fees to the publisher.
This is why we recommend you use Library resources and link to them with the Canvas ChabotLibrary LTI external tool. You then avoid the "fair use"/copyright violation issue that can come up.
NOTE: Above is based mainly on a librarian's presentation I attended at the Charleston Conference in 2016. As stated above, this can change at any time (as far as the publishers are concerned, most often they consider the 10% to be too much or that the 10% should not apply to an article, poem, short story, etc. So this can definitely change AT ANY TIME).
Public Statement: Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research
If you encounter library materials from our databases that are not available in an accessible format, please contact us know so we can work with our vendors to provide an alternate format that is accessible.
Streaming media databasesWhether you are drafting your documents using MS Word or Google Docs, you can apply Accessibility Checkers to ensure they are screen reader friendly and provide information for inserted images for visually impaired folks. Select Review from the menu navigation. Select the Check Accessibility button.
Adding Alt-Text
This will open the Accessibility Checker of the right side panel. For example, if you inserted an image in your document, but did not provide Alt-Text, this will flag an alert. Providing a brief description of the image will allow screen readers to describe the picture to the audience. Learn more about alt-text best practices.
Similar to MS Word, the accessibility checker is located under the Tools menu.
Once you enable the Accessibility checker, it will appear on the menu.
