Skip to Main Content

Sociology 001 (Earl-Novell) Spring 2022: Journal and Newspaper Databases

Articles Plus Search

Databases for All Social Sciences Disciplines

SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library: The Community College Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Social Sciences and Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly journals on the humanities, social sciences, literary criticism, ethnic studies and more!

Streaming Media

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window

Films for Action

Accessing Databases from Off Campus

To access databases or electronic resources from off-campus, you will need to login using your W ID number and your MYPortal password.

If you can't get in, go to MYPortal. If you forgot your password there, answer your security question, reset your password, and then try again.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
NCSU Libraries' interactive webpage shows the different parts of a scholarly article.

Reference Databases--BACKGROUND RESEARCH

Articles Plus: Reference Book Entries This link opens in a new window
Gale E-books (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedia of Human Rights

Uniform Crime Reports This link opens in a new window

All Subjects (Newspapers and Magazines)

Newspaper Source Plus and Newswires This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Diversity Databases This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (Previously LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window
The web version of the newspaper, plus unique online only features, plus access to almost the entire archive of the NY Times. You must also create your own account (at no cost) but through this Library link.