Not sure where to start? Explore our topic databases on current issues and find background information in our encyclopedias and reference eBooks. If you have a general topic idea in mind, Pro/Con Databases are a great way to discovery discussions about a general topic so you can narrow down to a more specific topic to focus on your research.
Scholarly journal articles are written and researched by experts in the field that have undergone a peer-reviewed process that their analysis and research is credible. The content of these articles can be very technical, often with charts and graphs to show results from their research. These articles are published in journals that are specific in their field of study and are written for other professionals in that field.
Scholarly journal articles can be found in our databases. We have general subject databases along with subject specific databases to choose from.
Use OneSearch, the library's catalog, to find books, DVDs, CDs, and eBooks at either the Chabot College Library or Las Positas Library. You can search by title, author, keyword, and other variables. You can also access the Library Catalog from the navigation menu at the top of the library website.
Our collection includes:
If you need assistance finding what you're looking for, simply contact a librarian.
Beginning Research---Search for Information in the OneSearch database; this is a great database for beginning your research (though not necessarily your last stop). It searches for articles and books from most all of Chabot College Library databases all at once.
This means you may get various types of sources, depending on your search terms and strategy (e.g. articles from academic journals, newspapers, reports, reviews, magazines, ebooks and books).
To get to Chabot Library OneSearch:
• Open a Web browser and go to https://libraryguides.chabotcollege.edu/home
• You should now see the One Search Box, make sure the One Search tab is highlighted
Try Searching:
• Enter a search term relevant to your topic in the box labeled “keyword” Click “Search”
• Add an additional search term, avoid sentences; keep your keywords to a set of short terms.
Tip: Use the filters on the left side of your search results to narrow your search. As you evaluate each source’s relevance,
consider its audience and purpose.
Chabot College Library currently provides access to over 40,000 E-Books which can be accessed from the Library Catalog in addition to several e-book databases.
Our eBook databases include:
Newspaper articles are written by reporters and mainly provide news as it is happening. They also contain opinion pieces (editorials and reviews). They are not written by experts, themselves. Most of the time, the same can be said for magazine articles, but magazine articles will usually be a bit more in-depth. Because magazine articles are written for a general audience, the language and discussion of a particular topic are easy to understand, but usually at a cost that more detailed information could be omitted. Magazine writers are often not an expert in the field discussed, let alone do not do any research beyond who they interview or what they gather at a moment. So the information on the topic is often far from complete.
Our Newspapers and Magazine databases include:
Our streaming media collection includes full length documentaries, movies and news reports which can be used as part of your research.
After you conduct your search-- if you are off campus, you need to login with your college credentials, and then with Kanopy credentials (if you do not have Kanopy credentials you need to setup an account, the latter includes an email address you would need to return to often). If you are on campus, you still need to login with your Kanopy credentials.
Search over 1,100 titles from PBS.
